Families/Researchers Meeting 2022

After a successful first edition last year, ELA International held the Families/Researchers virtual meeting, a major event long awaited by families, again this year.

RICH AND DYNAMIC EXCHANGES AND A FORMAT THAT HAS FOUND ITS PLACE

The Families/Researchers meeting once again brought together families affected by leukodystrophies and researchers working on these diseases. This event gives families the opportunity to learn about the progress of research and the opportunity to exchange with researchers who have actively provided responses to questions. The discussion between the researchers themselves also created a dynamic and the information exchanged enhanced everyone’s knowledge. Four sessions were organised and covered a wide range of leukodystrophies and cross-cutting issues. Simultaneous translation into 5 languages made it possible to open up this meeting once again to international families wishing to attend. This year again, many women followed the researchers’ presentations live and exchanged views with them in the language of their choice. 16 nationalities were represented and 184 families participated in the event.

The support of our partners has helped us to organise this event in the best possible conditions in order to maintain the quality of the services provided, which have made this event a success.

A SCIENTIFIC PROGRAMME FOCUSED ON CLINICAL TRIALS

Under the aegis of ELA’s 30th anniversary, Guy Alba (President of ELA International) opened the meeting by outlining the path taken and the key stages of research that have punctuated the life of the association. He also expressed his indignation, on behalf of all ELA families, at the withdrawal of the laboratory Bluebird bio from Europe, even though it had just obtained the marketing authorisation for Skysona, a gene therapy treatment for cerebral adrenoleukodystrophy. This abrupt decision deprives the sick children concerned of vital treatment. Finally, he noted that after many years of research focused on identifying the genes involved and understanding the mechanisms of the disease, many clinical trials are now being conducted and offer hope.

The scientific programme covered topics common to several forms of leukodystrophies, such as neonatal screening, the importance of early diagnosis, patient management and the use of the Leuconnect platform for online studies. The new sequencing technologies presented by Isabelle Thiffault(Children’s Mercy Hospital, Kansas City, USA) show that the technological advances of recent years are accelerating the discovery of new genes. Today, the immense amount of data to be analysed is a new challenge for researchers in identifying the genes responsible for leukodystrophies.

The experts took turns presenting the ongoing trials in which they are involved and their initial results.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Koehler(Klinikum St.Georg, Leipzig, Germany), who is currently conducting a study on the quality of life of X-ALD women on the Leuconnect platform, expressed his satisfaction and enthusiasm for this tool, which, based on its success, has led the research team to extend the study to two new languages, Spanish and Italian. He invites X-ALD women who have not yet done so to apply for the study on leuconnect.com.
Although he too is outraged by the withdrawal of Bluebird Bio in Europe, Prof. Dr.  Jean-Hugues Dalle(transplant doctor at Robert Debré-Paris), presented the main results of cell and gene therapy in the treatment of cerebral ALD as “A treatment that works if administered very early”. The issue of improved diagnosis and early management of the disease is at the heart of the discussions.

The study of gene function and expression to accelerate diagnosis in Pelizaeus-Merzbacher disease (PMD) are successively advocated by Prof. Dr. David Rowitch(University of Cambridge, UK) and Dr.  Nicole Wolf (Amsterdam University Medical Center, Netherlands). They highlight the diversity and heterogeneity of these diseases, which makes them difficult to understand.

But new avenues of thought are developing, particularly with the use of stem cells (iPSC), which are revolutionising the field of research. These are dedifferentiated cells that have the ability to be reprogrammed. They represent new research tools that open up perspectives on new therapeutic strategies. In particular, they are used to reproduce the behaviour of the cells involved in the disease. Elly Hol, who is involved in a European research programme (EJP) on Alexander disease, with which ELA is associated, presents a study conducted on mini-brains developed in the laboratory from these cells. They are used to better understand disease mechanisms and test new treatments.

Guanabenz is a molecule that has been marketed for many years in the US and Europe for the treatment of hypertension in adults. An ongoing study led by Prof. Dr. Marjo van der Knaap(Amsterdam University Medical Center, Netherlands) measures the effectiveness of this molecule in CACH syndrome. The initial results are encouraging.

Finally, the treatment of metachromatic leukodystrophy (MLD) by gene therapy approved in Europe represents a real prospect for the treatment of this disease.

Other experts shared their initial results and encouraging information about new treatments to come. Although the scientific community still lacks knowledge about these diseases, these presentations demonstrated, in addition to the clear shift towards clinical trials, that technology continues to advance and research is accelerating.

The Scientific Council of ELA International expressed its support for the families affected by leukodystrophies and victims of the current war in Ukraine, a moving discourse with which ELA associates itself.
“The European Leukodystrophy Association international scientific advisory board wishes to express its concern and sympathy for people and families affected by leukodystrophy and the war in Ukraine. We understand the great difficulty of taking care of children with rare disease, especially without access to proper hospital care or medicines.
Our board members will endeavour to provide direct medical support to refugees as well as hospitals and healthcare providers in the region that can benefit from specialist medical advice on care of leukodystrophy patients.
This is a time of empathy and unity for all people and families affected by leukodystrophy”

30 YEARS OF RESEARCH

The 30 years of ELA and the advances made in the field of leukodystrophy research are in everyone’s mind. The researchers thanked the families who participate in the clinical studies. They were also full of praise and appreciation for the activities carried out by the association over the years and the investments they have been able to make.
Clinical trials continue to increase in number. ELA is continuing on this path towards the treatments of tomorrow.


To review the meeting:

ELA virtuel meeting 2022 – Introduction Guy Alba
ELA virtual meeting 2022 – Day 1
ELA virtual meeting 2022 – Day 2

Families/Researchers virtual meeting: a huge success

Every year, ELA organizes a meeting in Paris which brings families and researchers together affected by leukodystrophies. This event could not take place in 2020 due to thethe global pandemic. The health context having made it impossible to organize the Families/Researchers meeting in person, ELA has had to adapt to allow this long-awaited meeting by families.

A first in ELA’s history

For the first time, ELA has organized a virtual family meeting, with the support of the CNSA (the French National Solidatity Fund for Autonomy), ORCHARD Therapeutics, and Autobahn Therapeutic. The meeting took place on the afternoon of 27 and 28 March, and welcomed the international community of patients affected by leukodystrophy. A simultaneous translation system in 5 languages (German, English, Spanish, French, Italian) allowed a large number of people to follow the presentations easily and live. It brought together some twenty different nationalities, testifying to the universality of the disease and the expectations of families around the world. Four workshops were held, 2 per half day, and covered all pathologies. About twenty researchers took part in the meeting, and gave an update of the progress of their work, and hopes of treatment. A time for discussion was allowed for the participants to ask their questions.

Bringing patients and their families together to accelerate research

One of the major objectives of ELA International is to bring patients together at a global level, an indispensable condition for accelerating research. As President of ELA International, Guy Alba points out: “If we are not able to bring patients together when we start clinical trials, all of this is pointless. To test new treatments, it will take as many patients as possible to build cohorts and conduct these trials under good conditions. Only a structure like ELA International can do it for the benefit of all, because it is independent, because it is disinterested, because it has no conflict of interest, and because it represents all patients.”

With this new international meeting format, patients from all over the world are gathered around the researchers and receive the same information at the same time. On this occasion, Guy Alba  recalled the importance of Leuconnect, a clinical research support platform developed by ELA International that brings patients and their families together. He invited the largest number to register on https://www.leuconnect.com to be part of the Leuconnect community.

This innovative and large-scale format provided by ELA has satisfied all participants and has once again given the opportunity to  families to gather around the researchers.

ELA Families-scientists virtuel meeting : online videos 

Program :

ELA Family Colloque_program 2021_Eng

Each year, the ELA association organizes a meeting for patients and their families. Many researchers coming from all around the world will present the latest scientific and medical advances and answer the questions of patients and families. This annual event is an exceptional opportunity for patients and their families to interact with scientists specialised in leukodystrophies and myelin diseases and learn from their diseases.

The 2019 meeting will take place on March 30-31, 2019 in Paris (France).

Colloque Familles/Chercheurs 2022 :

Après une première édition réussie l’année dernière, ELA international a renouvelé cette année le colloque Familles/Chercheurs en virtuel, événement majeur tant attendu par les familles.

DES ÉCHANGES RICHES ET DYNAMIQUES ET UN FORMAT QUI A TROUVÉ SA PLACE

Le colloque Familles/Chercheurs a rassemblé une nouvelle fois les familles concernées par les leucodystrophies et les chercheurs qui travaillent sur ces pathologies. Cet évènement donne aux familles l’occasion de s’informer sur les avancées de la recherche et l’opportunité d’échanger avec les chercheurs qui ont activement répondu aux questions. La discussion entre les chercheurs eux même a également créé une dynamique et les informations échangées ont nourri les connaissances de chacun. Quatre sessions étaient organisées et ont couvert un grand nombre de leucodystrophies et de sujets transversaux. Une traduction simultanée en 5 langues a permis d’ouvrir une nouvelle fois ce colloque aux familles internationales qui le souhaitent. Elles ont été encore nombreuses cette année à suivre les interventions des chercheurs en direct et à échanger avec eux dans la langue souhaitée. 16 nationalités étaient représentées et 184 familles ont participé à l’évènement.

 

Le soutien de nos partenaires a contribué à organiser cet événement dans les meilleures conditions afin de maintenir la qualité des prestations fournies qui font le succès de cet événement.

UN PROGRAMME SCIENTIFIQUE AXÉ SUR LES ESSAIS CLINIQUES

Sous l’égide des 30 ans d’ELA, Guy Alba (président d’ELA International) a ouvert ce colloque en rappelant le chemin parcouru et les étapes clés de la recherche qui ont ponctué la vie de l’association. Il a également exprimé son indignation, au nom de toutes les familles d’ELA, pour le retrait du laboratoire Bluebird bio d’Europe, alors qu’il venait d’obtenir l’autorisation de mise sur le marché du Skysona, un traitement par thérapie génique de l’adrénoleucodystrophie cérébrale. Cette décision brutale prive les enfants malades concernés d’un traitement vital. Enfin, il a rappelé qu’après de longues années de recherche centrées sur l’identification des gènes en cause et la compréhension des mécanismes de la maladie, aujourd’hui de nombreux essais cliniques sont en cours et sont porteurs d’espoir.

Le programme scientifique a couvert des thématiques communes à plusieurs formes de leucodystrophies avec des sujets comme le dépistage néonatal, l’importance de la précocité du diagnostic, la prise en charge des patients et l’utilisation de la plateforme Leuconnect où se multiplient les études en ligne. Les nouvelles technologies de séquençage présentées par Isabelle Thiffault (Children’s Mercy Hospital Kansas City – Etats-Unis) montrent que les progrès technologiques de ces dernières années accélèrent la découverte de nouveaux gènes. Aujourd’hui, l’immense quantité de données à analyser est un nouveau défi pour les chercheurs dans l’identification des gènes responsables de leucodystrophies.

Les experts se sont succédé pour présenter les essais en cours dans lesquels ils sont impliqués et leurs premiers résultats.

Le Pr. Wolfgang Koehler (Klinikum St.Georg Leipzig – Allemagne), qui conduit actuellement une étude sur la qualité de vie des femmes X-ALD sur la plateforme Leuconnect, a exprimé sa satisfaction et son enthousiasme pour cet outil qui, fort de son succès, a conduit l’équipe de chercheurs à étendre l’étude à deux nouvelles langues, l’espagnol et l’italien. Il invite les femmes X-ALD qui ne l’ont pas encore fait à postuler à l’étude sur leuconnect.com.

Même si lui aussi s’indigne du retrait de Bluebird Bio en Europe, le Pr. Jean-Hugues Dalle (médecin greffeur à Robert Debré-Paris), a présenté les principaux résultats de la thérapie cellulaire et génique dans le traitement de l’ALD cérébral « Un traitement qui fonctionne s’il est administré très tôt ». La question de l’amélioration du diagnostic et la prise en charge précoce de la maladie sont au cœur des discussions.

L’étude de la fonction et de l’expression des gènes pour accélérer le diagnostic dans la maladie de Pelizaeus-Merzbacher (PMD) sont successivement mis en avant par le Pr. David Rowitch (University of Cambridge-Royaume-Uni) et Dr. Nicole Wolf (Amsterdam University Medical Center-Pays-Bas). Ils soulignent la diversité et l’hétérogénéité de ces maladies qui complexifient leur compréhension.

Mais de nouvelles pistes de réflexion se développent notamment avec l’utilisation de cellules souches (iPSC) qui révolutionnent le domaine de la recherche. Ce sont des cellules dédifférenciées qui ont la capacité d’être reprogrammées. Elles représentent de nouveaux outils de recherche qui ouvrent des perspectives sur de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques. Elles sont utilisées notamment pour reproduire le comportement des cellules impliquées dans la maladie. Elly Hol, impliquée dans un programme européen de recherche (EJP) sur la maladie d’Alexander auquel ELA est associé, présente une étude menée sur des mini cerveaux élaborés en laboratoire à partir de ces cellules. Ils sont utilisés pour mieux comprendre les mécanismes pathologiques et tester de nouveaux traitements.

Le guanabenz est une molécule commercialisée depuis de nombreuses années aux Etats-Unis et en Europe pour le traitement de l’hypertension chez les adultes. Une étude en cours menée par le Pr. Marjo van der Knaap (Amsterdam University Medical Center-Pays-Bas) mesure l’efficacité de cette molécule dans le syndrome CACH. Les premiers résultats sont encourageants.

Enfin le traitement de la leucodystrophie métachromatique (MLD) par thérapie génique approuvé en Europe est une réelle perspective de traitement de cette maladie.

D’autres experts ont partagé leurs premiers résultats et des informations encourageantes sur de nouveaux traitements à venir. Au travers de ces présentations, outre le virage clairement pris vers les essais cliniques, même si la communauté scientifique manque encore de connaissances sur ces maladies, la technologie continue de progresser et la recherche s’accélère.

Le Conseil Scientifique d’ELA International a exprimé son soutien pour les familles touchées par les leucodystrophies et victimes du contexte actuel de guerre en Ukraine, un discours émouvant auquel s’associe ELA.
« Le conseil scientifique d’ELA International souhaite exprimer sa préoccupation et sa sympathie pour les personnes et les familles touchées par les leucodystrophies et la guerre en Ukraine. Nous comprenons la grande difficulté de prendre soin des enfants atteints de maladies rares, en particulier sans accès à des soins hospitaliers ou des médicaments appropriés.
Les membres du conseil scientifique s’efforceront de fournir un soutien médical direct aux réfugiés ainsi qu’aux hôpitaux et aux prestataires de soins de santé de la région, et de leur faire bénéficier de conseils médicaux spécialisés pour la prise en charge spécifique des patients atteints de leucodystrophies.
C’est un moment pour l’empathie et l’unité pour toutes les personnes et les familles touchées par les leucodystrophies. »

30 ANS DE RECHERCHE

Les 30 ans d’ELA et les avancées réalisées dans le domaine de la recherche sur les leucodystrophies sont présents dans tous les esprits. Les chercheurs ont remercié les familles qui participent aux études cliniques. Ils n’ont également pas manqué d’éloges et de remerciements au regard des actions menées par l’association depuis toutes ces années et des investissements dont ils ont pu bénéficier.
Les essais cliniques continuent de se multiplier. ELA poursuit ce chemin qui doit mener vers les traitements de demain.


Revoir le colloque :

ELA virtuel meeting 2022 – Introduction Guy Alba
ELA virtuel meeting 2022 – Jour 1
ELA virtuel meeting 2022 – Jour 2

Colloque Familles/Chercheurs virtuel : un réel succès

Chaque année, ELA organise, à Paris, un colloque qui rassemble les familles et les chercheurs concernés par les leucodystrophies. En 2020, face à la pandémie mondiale, cet événement n’a pas pu avoir lieu. Le contexte sanitaire empêchant cette année encore l’organisation de ce colloque Familles/Chercheurs en présentiel, ELA s’est adapté pour permettre ce rendez-vous tant attendu des familles.

Une première dans l’histoire d’ELA

Pour la première fois, ELA a organisé un colloque en visioconférence, avec le soutien financier de la Caisse Nationale de Solidarité pour l’Autonomie (CNSA), ORCHARD Therapeutics, et Autobahn Therapeutic. Le colloque s’est déroulé les après-midi des 27 et 28 mars derniers, et a été ouvert à la communauté internationale des patients concernés par une leucodystrophie. Un système de traductions simultanées en 5 langues (Allemand, Anglais, Espagnol, Français, Italien)  a permis au plus grand nombre de suivre les interventions en direct. Il a rassemblé une vingtaine de nationalités différentes, témoignant de l’universalité de la maladie et des attentes des familles à travers le monde. Quatre ateliers ont été proposés, 2 par demi-journée, et ont couvert l’ensemble des pathologies. Une vingtaine de chercheurs y ont participé et ont pu faire un point sur les avancées de leurs travaux, et les espoirs de traitement. Un temps d’échange a permis aux participants de poser leurs questions.

Rassembler les patients et leurs familles pour accélérer la recherche

Un des objectifs majeurs d’ELA International est de rassembler les patients au niveau mondial, une condition indispensable pour accélérer la recherche. Comme le souligne Guy Alba, Président d’ELA International : « Si au moment de lancer des essais cliniques, nous ne sommes pas capables de réunir les malades, tout cela ne sert à rien. Car pour tester des nouveaux traitements, il faudra le plus de patients possibles pour constituer des cohortes et conduire ces essais dans de bonnes conditions. Seule une structure comme ELA International peut le faire pour le bien de tous, parce qu’elle est indépendante, parce qu’elle est désintéressée, parce qu’elle n’a pas de conflit d’intérêt, et parce qu’elle représente tous les malades. »  

Avec ce nouveau format de colloque international, les patients du monde entier sont rassemblés autour des chercheurs et reçoivent la même information au même moment. A cette occasion, Guy Alba, a rappelé l’importance de Leuconnect, plateforme d’aide à la recherche clinique développée par ELA International, qui rassemble les patients et leurs familles. Il a invité le plus grand nombre à s’inscrire sur https://www.leuconnect.com pour faire partie de la communauté Leuconnect.

Ce dispositif novateur et d’envergure mis en place par ELA a séduit l’ensemble des participants et a donné une nouvelle fois l’opportunité aux familles de se rassembler autour des chercheurs.

Colloque ELA Familles/Chercheurs virtuel : retrouvez les vidéos du colloque en ligne

Programme :

ELA Family Colloque_program 2021_Eng

Chaque année, l’association ELA organise un colloque destiné aux malades et à leurs familles. De nombreux chercheurs venus du monde entier y présentent les dernières avancées scientifiques et médicales et répondent aux questions des familles. Ce rendez-vous annuel est une opportunité exceptionnelle pour les malades et leurs familles d’interagir avec les chercheurs spécialistes des leucodystrophies et des maladies de la myéline.

Le colloque 2019 s’est déroulé les 30 et 31 mars.